Blog

Il defense attorneyWhen one is facing a domestic battery accusation it is entirely common to feel flustered or panicked, especially when the accusation is entirely fabricated. False accusations of domestic battery are much more common than most of us would like to assume, and these accusations can come with life-changing ramifications for the accused. Outside of the immediate legal consequences of a domestic battery conviction (which we examine further below), an accusation can impact one’s relationships and employment status. If you have been falsely accused of domestic battery, it is critically important to hire an attorney that you can believe in.

Understanding Domestic Battery in Illinois

While some people will simply shrug off a false battery accusation, due to their confidence in the accusation being proved false, it is important to understand the legal ramifications of a conviction. Here in the state of Illinois, a domestic battery conviction can come with significant jail time and monetary fines. A first-time offender is likely to face Class A Misdemeanor charges. If convicted, a Class A Misdemeanor can lead to up to one-year in prison, and fines as high as $2,500. It should be noted that there are a number of factors that can lead to a domestic battery charge being elevated to aggravated domestic battery. The most common reason for an aggravated charge is the fact that the accused has previously been convicted of a domestic crime. Other aggravating factors include the presence of children during the incident, prior conviction of a felony, or violation of an order of protection. If you are convicted of aggravated domestic battery, the charges are elevated to a Class 2 felony. With a conviction can come up to seven years in prison and fines up to $25,000. Domestic charges should be taken seriously, and it is wise to seek out the assistance of a legal professional immediately.

Read more:

IL family lawyerThroughout the United States, conventional gender roles have essentially been nixed as it pertains to the family unit. Now there are more bread-winning wives and thousands of stay-at-home fathers. Yet still, it can be difficult for divorcing fathers to receive the treatment they deserve throughout the legal process. Whether your issues revolve around securing financial support or alimony from your former spouse or gaining custody of your children, a father needs to be diligently prepared as they get ready for court. If you are a father preparing for a divorce, speak with a skilled attorney immediately.

Fighting for Custody

If your custody case is to be decided in court, it is important to know how the court will make their decision. Here in the state of Illinois, the court will determine which parent should have primary custody of the children involved by considering a number of criteria. These criteria include the child’s physical and mental health, the parent’s interest in their academic performance, and the living space provided by each parent. Recognizing this, it is important that your household is clean and properly equipped to house a child.

Read more:

IL divorce lawyerWhen a couple decides to pursue a divorce, the complications that can accompany a separation can be daunting. Most notably, sorting through the financial aspects of a divorce can be incredibly nuanced. In many marriages, one spouse brings in a disproportionate amount of collective income. In the vast majority of instances, this is due to the fact that one parent spends more time at home taking care of the children. When the divorce is finalized, the spouse with less income often is left to wonder how they will live a financially sustainable lifestyle. Fortunately, a person can secure spousal maintenance in order to live securely post-divorce. Below we will discuss how spousal maintenance is calculated in Illinois, and how an attorney can assist you throughout the process of securing the maintenance you deserve.

Understanding Spousal Maintenance

Spousal maintenance is simply when one spouse is making payments to the other spouse after the divorce. When seeking fair spousal maintenance, from your former spouse, it is important to understand how maintenance is calculated in the state of Illinois. First and foremost, the income of both spouses is considered. According to a recent state law change, the payment is calculated based on a calculation that takes 20% of the payee’s income, subtracted from 30% of the payor’s income. The final calculation will then be added to the payor’s total income. The payment will be solidified as long as the payment plus the payor’s income does not equal more than 40% of the total income of both parties.

Read more:

IL traffic lawyerHere in the state of Illinois, an accumulation of three minor traffic violations will result in a license suspension of at least three months. While most people choose to simply accept a traffic violation, and pay the ticket, outside of serious fines, a conviction of a violation can result in loss of driving privileges. Recognizing this, it is important to speak with a qualified legal professional, as soon as you are charged with a traffic violation. Below we will examine some of the most common minor traffic violations, while also taking a look at violations that can carry a criminal charge.

How an Attorney Can Help You

Statewide, hundreds of thousands of tickets are handed out each year, for minor traffic violations. In the vast majority of cases, minor violations result in significant fines and should be taken seriously. In a high number of instances, a skilled attorney will be able to craft a compelling defense case to fight against a conviction.

Read more:

IL DUI lawyerWhen a person is charged with a minor traffic violation, it is incredibly common for them to pay the fine and move on. In all reality, this can be a poor decision to make, especially as it pertains to driving under the influence. If convicted, even a first-time DUI charge could result in loss of driving privileges, substantial fines, and even potential jail-time. Below, we will examine some of the potential ramifications of a first-time DUI conviction, as well as the importance of hiring an attorney when you are facing charges for driving under the influence.

How Your First DUI Can Impact You

Here in the state of Illinois, upwards of 25,000 people are arrested on DUI charges, each and every year. If convicted, a DUI charge can significantly impact a person’s life. According to Illinois state law, driving under the influence of alcohol constitutes a Class A Misdemeanor, for a first-time offender. If convicted, the driver will face a one-year license revocation period, as well as suspension of their vehicle registration. While a first-time DUI offender can apply for a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID), they must pay for the device themselves and will be charged with a felony if they are caught driving another vehicle.

Read more:
phone630-953-3000
fax844-272-5935
address2200 S. Main Street, Suite 317, Lombard, IL 60148
hoursEvenings and Weekends by Appointment