Lombard DUI Defense Attorneys
DUI Lawyers Representing Clients in Plainfield, Elmhurst, Will County, and Throughout Northern Illinois
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal charge in the state of Illinois. In addition to jail time and fines, DUIs can result in the loss of your driving privileges and other serious negative consequences. The only way to protect yourself from harsh DUI prosecution is to hire experienced legal counsel to represent you. At Aldrich & Siedlarz Law, P.C., we provide skilled DUI defense services. Our attorneys understand the seriousness of the DUI charges and penalties our clients face. We strongly and aggressively represent your interests both in and out of court.
Consequences of DUI Charges in Illinois
The consequences of a conviction on a DUI charge in Illinois are serious and long lasting. The severity of the consequences depend on whether or not it is a first offense or subsequent offense, as follows:
- First Conviction - Up to one year in jail, up to $2,500 in fines, and minimum one-year driver’s license revocation.
- Second Conviction - Up to one year in jail (with mandatory five days of jail time or 240 hours of community service), up to $2,500 in fines, and minimum of five-year driver’s license revocation (if within 20 years of the first conviction).
- Third Conviction - Up to seven years in prison (with mandatory 18 to 30-month imprisonment), up to $25,000 fine, and minimum ten-year driver’s license revocation.
In Illinois, a charge of driving under the influence of alcohol occurs when a driver who is over 21 years old has a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 percent (.04 percent for commercial drivers). The law has zero tolerance for drivers under 21 drinking alcohol, which means the BAC for an underage DUI is .00 percent. Illinois also has an implied consent law, which means those who refuse to submit to a reasonable request for a chemical test will automatically have their licenses suspended for one-year (first offense) or three years (second or third offense). Similarly, those who submit to the chemical test and register a BAC of .08 or higher will have their licenses suspended for 6 months (first offense) or one year (second or third offense). This is called a statutory summary suspension, which can be challenged in court with the filing of a proper Petition to Rescind Statutory Summary Suspension.
A statutory summary suspension does not go into effect until the 46th day after your arrest, which means hiring an attorney immediately may help you avoid the suspension before it goes into effect. By law, you are entitled to a statutory summary suspension hearing on your first court appearance or within 30 days of filing your petition. Penalties for DUI can be more severe if the BAC is greater than .16 percent, if the driver is transporting a child under the age of 16, or if there is a crash involving injury to a child. After three convictions for DUI, any subsequent DUI conviction will also result in a lifetime driver’s license revocation with no possibility of relief.
In addition to the aforementioned penalties, a DUI conviction will also remain a permanent part of your driving record and your criminal record. DUI convictions cannot be expunged in Illinois. With so much at stake, having a criminal defense attorney who is experienced in handling DUI defense is essential. At Aldrich & Siedlarz Law, P.C., we know how to defend our clients facing DUI charges successfully and mitigate these potentially serious consequences.
Contact Our DuPage County and Will County DUI Defense Lawyers
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, contact our attorneys right away at 630-953-3000 to schedule a free initial consultation. We will go over the circumstances of your arrest and advise you on your legal options. Our attorneys represent clients in DuPage County, Will County, Cook County, Kendall County, Kane County, and the surrounding areas of Northern Illinois.