What Are the Penalties for DUI With a Passenger Under the Age of 16 in Illinois?
In the state of Illinois, a DUI conviction can lead to serious consequences, including jail time, loss of driving privileges, fines, and additional penalties. In situations that involve a minor child, however, the penalties can be even more severe. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI that includes a minor child, it is imperative to discuss your case with a skilled DUI defense attorney. At Aldrich & Siedlarz Law, P.C., we understand the gravity of situations such as this and we are prepared to defend your legal rights both in and out of court.
Potential DUI Penalties With a Passenger Under 16 Years Old
Driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs in Illinois is a Class A misdemeanor. For a first-time conviction, the penalties that may result include jail time for up to one year, a maximum of $2,500 in fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license for at least one year. According to 625 ILCS 5/11-501, if the motorist was transporting a passenger under the age of 16 at the time of the violation, the motorist is subject to 6 months of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children.
Furthermore, an aggravated DUI charge can result if the impaired motorist was involved in an accident that resulted in bodily harm to a child who is under 16 years old and is being driven by the motorist if the violation was the cause of the injury. A Class 2 felony charge can result if it is an individual's second DUI offense while transporting a minor child under the age of 16. In Illinois, all felony offenses may result in fines up to $25,000, and a class 2 felony charge can result in 3-7 years of prison time.
Discuss your Legal Needs with a Knowledgeable DuPage County DUI Defense Attorney
The charges that can result from a DUI conviction while transporting a child are far more severe than a typical DUI. At Aldrich & Siedlarz Law, P.C., we understand that these charges can affect the rest of your life, and we are ready to help. Fluent in English and Polish, our experienced Lombard, IL DUI defense attorneys will work with you to develop a strategy unique to your case. Representing clients throughout DuPage County, Will County, and Kendall County, visit our website or call 630-953-3000 to arrange a free initial consultation.